In the beginning

 

 

IMG_20140316_115413_zpsbfaaf8f1

Her is Mia less then 1 day old.

No one ever tells you you might not be able to breast feed exclusively. I had my second child, Mia on March 15. I had planned on breast feeding before my husband and I even started planning to concieve our second.

I breastfeed our son Jayden, which is now 5 for 3 months. Having being 19, I listened to a lot of bad advice, gave formula and weaned him after getting a stomach virus and everyone suggested I stop so he wouldnt get it and I did and he got it anyway. Hes was admitted for it.

IMG_20140321_112010_zps8636a2d6

Mia 4 days old in the ICU.

Anyway, back to Mia. She was a 37 weeker, which I was not anticipating at all. She had jaundice, was terribly sleepy with a very week suck. At birth her weight was 5lbs 9oz and by day 4 had lost a whole pound. Now she was 4lbs 9oz. Very dehydrated in the ER she had an very bad vitals and was rushed to the ICU. There she was put under photographic therapy.

She remained admitted for 5 more days and in those 5 days I was offered a pump but no one knew how to use it. I requested a lactation consultant a couple times and she never showed. Still breastfeeding while there, I was thinking she was stimulating my supply enough. Boy was I wrong.

Lets fast forward to 3 weeks postpartum. She was not gaining weight and it was suggested I give a little formula after most feeds.  I was extremly down on myself for not being able to exclusivley breastfeed.

While on some formula she gained weight. Now at 8 weeks, I’ve tried everything I have read and been told to increase my milk supply with not much luck.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

